Events and Conferences

Please find below a provisional list of conferences which Channel View Publications/Multilingual Matters will be attending or at which we will be represented. Please note that this is subject to change: please check with us if you want to be sure we will be there by emailing info@channelviewpublications.com. Where editorial and/or sales staff are attending, they will always be pleased to meet you to discuss current or future projects. 

The first ever Multilingual Matters free online event: Ask the Authors, Live!

On 19th August we’re inviting you to join us on Zoom for a conversation between Nancy H. Hornberger, Wayne E. Wright and some of the authors in their Bilingual Education and Bilingualism series with time for your questions in a Q&A section at the end!

 

Time: 1pm Eastern, 12pm Central, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific (6pm UK)

Please register for the event here.

The schedule for the event is as follows:

Welcome and introductions by Flo from Multilingual Matters

Maria R. Coady speaks about her book, The Coral Way Bilingual Program

Kimberly Adilia Helmer speaks about her book, Learning and Not Learning in the Heritage Language Classroom

Kathryn I. Henderson and Deborah K. Palmer speak about their book, Dual Language Bilingual Education

Discussion between the series editors and all four authors

Questions from event attendees

For those who can’t join live, the event will be recorded so you can watch afterwards.

Don't forget to register for the event here.

Speaker information

Maria R. Coady is Irving and Rose Fien Endowed Professor and Associate Professor of ESOL/Bilingual Education at the University of Florida, USA. Her research specialises in English Language Learners and multilingual students, especially those in rural settings.

Kimberly Adilia Helmer is a Teaching Professor in the Writing Program at the University of California Santa Cruz, USA. Her research interests include Latino/a student engagement in learning and the pedagogies that support that learning; multilingual writers and writing; and English for Academic Purposes.

Kathryn I. Henderson is an Associate Professor of Bicultural-Bilingual Studies in the School of Education at The University of Texas at San Antonio, USA. Her research interests include language ideologies, language policy and dual language bilingual education programs.

Deborah K. Palmer is a Professor of Equity, Bilingualism and Biliteracy in the School of Education at the University of Colorado Boulder, USA. Her research interests include bilingual education policy and politics, critical additive bilingual education, translanguaging, teacher preparation for linguistically/culturally diverse teaching contexts, language, power and identity, and bilingual teacher leadership/agency.